D-I-E-t...there's a reason the first 3 letters are d-i-e.

08/02/2012 18:35

Diet...I count that in the list of four letter words that are "bad words."  Think about it...how many diets have successfully caused you keep your weght off for a substantial amount of time and changed the way you look at food?  Diet pills?  Quit taking them and gain your weight back plus some.  Food delivery services such as NutriSystem?  I'm so sure I would order from them for the rest of my life.  Begin eating an insanely small amount of calories?  Eat your body's healthy calorie amount while on vacation and come home five pounds heavier.  You can think of any diet fad out there, and really, none of them are successful for the long-term unless they encourage life long changes.  For example, Weight Watchers shows you how to eat healthy within a healthy amount of calorie intake.  Slowly the weight comes off, and your body becomes accustomed to this lifestyle.  It is a lifestyle that is logical!  Eating 900 calories/day for the rest of your life...not happening.  Take diet pills the rest of your life...nope.  NutriSystem from now until I croak...absolutely not!  I had a hard time coming to grips with the fact that it took me 25 years to put the weight on, and it's not going to come off in 25 days.  I wanted it to, and for some reason, fellt as though I was owed a quick fix. Quick fixes can still become broken later.  Think about it like this...your plumber comes to fix your pipes, 9 times out of 10 he leaves you with this statement, "Well, I fixed it.  Call me if it breaks again."  However, in the world of weight loss, you can't call someone to fix your problem.  Whenever you become discouraged with the small amount of weight coming off, just remember that the slower you take it, the better off you'll be.  Do it right. Do it healthy.  Keep it off.  And remember...it's not a diet; it's a lifestyle!